Transition to ISO 9001:2015 & ISO 14001:2015 Requirements

ISO 9001 & ISO 14001 have recently been revised with a new structure, new numbering system. There are some new requirements and the removal of some previous requirements.

The revised 2015 standards have now been released September 2015.

There will be a three-year transition period (all currently certified clients must comply with the revised requirements by 1st of September 2018).

What are the main changes?

ISO 9001:

1 . Simplified language to establish consistent interpretations of the standard requirements

2 . High level structure to standardise sub clause titles, text and common terms and definition – aligns with other ISO management system standards

3 . Less emphasis on documentation

4 . Increased emphasis on organisation context/scope and requirements around risk-based thinking.

ISO 14001:

1 . Focus on incorporating environment into the core business

2 . Understanding the context and interested parties

3 . Managing environmental impacts on the organisation and the organisations impacts on the environment.

4 . Greater focus to include environmental requirements in the design, development, delivery use and end of life treatment to products and services

5 . Emphasis on improving environmental performance

What the certified organisation needs to do:

1 . Identify organizational gaps which need to be addressed

2 . Develop an implementation plan

3 . Provide appropriate training to applicable personnel

4 . Update the management system to meet revised requirements

What the registered/allocated Lead Auditor needs to do:

1 . Complete suitable transition training to the revised standards through a registered training organisation which includes an evaluation.

Sustainable Certification Requirements for existing certified clients:

1 . At the next auditensure a transition plan is developed& in place

2 . Next audit will include summary in audit report on the progress towards the transition

3 . When it is confirmed you are ready to transition to the 2015 standard a Triennial/Re-Certification will be conducted.

4 . ISO 9001: 2008 and ISO 14001: 2004 certificates issued from this point will have an expiry of 31-08-2018

5 . All clients expected to be transitioned by 31st of August 2018 – there will be no extensions granted past this date.

6 . Between now and 31-08-2017 onlyobservations will be made against the gaps to the revised standards. From 31-8-2017 any gaps identified will be raised as a minor NC to ensure adequate time to address and comply with 2015 requirements.

7 . All NC’s must be effectively addressed and closed prior to the 31st of August 2018. There will be no extensions from this date.

8 . If an organisation does not meet the transition requirements by the due date (31st of August 2018), their certification will be cancelled and removed from the SC and JAS-ANZ Certificate Register and will need to reapply.

9 . SC will be ready to take applications to the 2015 standards from 1st of December 2015

Requirements for new applications:

1 . Sustainable Certification will stop taking applications to previous revisions of the standards by 31st of March 2017.

Chief Executive Officer
Sustainable Certification™ Pty Ltd
April 2016

To find out more give us a call on 1800 024 940